Women’s golf readying for NCAA Championship

The No. 18 women’s golf team will make its 12 NCAA Championship appearance Tuesday at the NCAA Women’s Golf Championship in Wilmington, N.C.

This will also be the seventh year the Frogs go to the championships under 16th-year head coach Angie Ravaioli-Larkin. The Horned Frogs won the 1983 national title.

The Horned Frogs are one of just eight teams to reach the NCAA Championship the last four years. It’s the first time in program history TCU has qualified for the event in four consecutive seasons.

TCU is one of just 12 teams to record a top-20 finish at each of the last three NCAA Championships.

The 72-hole tournament, played at the par 72, 6,368-yard Pete Dye-designed Country Club of Landfall, is spread over four days. Live scoring is available at www.Golfstat.com. Live video streaming of holes 16, 17 and 18 will take place on Thursday and Friday’s third and fourth rounds.

TCU’s Tuesday tee times begin at 8:06 a.m. Central.

The Horned Frogs are in the Tar Heel State for the second time this month. At the NCAA East Regional in Greenville, N.C., TCU finished eighth to earn the right to continue its season.

Valentine Derrey, TCU’s lone senior, will become the first Horned Frog women’s golfer to play in four NCAA Championships. The Paris, France, native received her TCU degree last week.

Derrey tied for ninth at the NCAA East Regional, her second straight top-10 finish and third in the last five tournaments.

Derrey and former TCU All-American and current LPGA standout Angela Stanford are the lone four-time all-conference selections in Horned Frog history.

Derrey has five top-20 finishes on the year with her 75.0 stroke average placing second on TCU, just behind Rachel Raastad’s 74.9. Derrey tops TCU with 73 birdies.

Raastad, the runner-up at the Mountain West Conference Championship, posted TCU’s best finish at last year’s NCAA Championship as she tied for 30th as a freshman.

The sophomore from Asker, Norway, has five top-10 finishes on the season and a team-best four eagles. Her stroke average drops to 73.8 in the final round of tournaments.

Raastad and Derrey are ranked 81st and 99th, respectively, in the nation, while Brooke Beeler is No. 150. All three were All-Mountain West Conference selections.

Beeler is third on TCU with a 75.5 stroke average. She joins Derrey as the lone Horned Frogs to play in all 11 tournaments this season.

Freshman Louise Kristersson has recorded four straight top-20 finishes. Keyed by a career-best 70 in the opening round, the Skivarp, Sweden, native tied for 13th at the NCAA East Regional.

Melissa Loh rounds out TCU’s lineup. The junior from Singapore has four top-20 results, including two in the top 10, over her last seven tournaments.

Ravaioli-Larkin was named the 2010 MWC Coach of the Year, marking the third different league in which she’s been honored. She previously received coach of the year accolades from the Southwest Conference (1996) and Western Athletic Conference (1998).