Patterson named National Coach of the Year

Patterson named National Coach of the Year

TCU didn’t receive a CFP spot and quarterback Trevone Boykin missed out on a Heisman trophy nod, but head coach Gary Patterson was named the Home Depot Coach of the Year Wednesday morning.

TCU’s all-time winningest coach took a team that finished 4-8 last year to an 11-1 finish in 2014 and a berth in the Peach Bowl.

He led the Horned Frogs to a share of the Big 12 title in his third year in the conference.

“It’s a great honor. Coach Patterson will be in Orlando tomorrow night to receive his award,” TCU media relations director Mark Cohen said.

Patterson was named the AP Big 12 Coach of the Year Tuesday, and added to his trophy case with the national award Wednesday.

He is 131-45 in his 14 seasons as head coach of TCU football.

Cohen added that Patterson and his quarterback Boykin will both be at the awards reception tomorrow night to “celebrate the Frogs.”

Patterson succeeds Auburn’s Guz Malzahn as the winner of the national coach of the year award.

Patterson’s team will take on Ole Miss in the Peach Bowl on Dec. 31 at 11:30 a.m.