Rifle headed to 11th straight NCAA Championships


TCU Rifle Team photographed in Fort Worth, Texas on September 7, 2016. (Photo by/Sharon Ellman, GOFROGS.com)

By Dean Straka

The Horned Frog rifle team will have the chance to compete for its third National Championship of the decade in March, as the team earned an invite on Tuesday to the NCAA Championships in Columbus, Ohio for the eleventh straight season.

TCU, who has dominated the sport for more than 10 years, was powered by a program best 13-0 finish to the season and a second straight conference championship in the Patriot Rifle Conference. The Frogs previously won the national championship in 2010 and 2012 under head coach Karen Monez.

The numbers from individual matches reached new heights this season as well. The Frogs tallied more than 4,700 points in 12 of 13 matches, with a 2,374 point average per match in air rifle and a 2,388 point average in small-bore. Ariana Grabowski and Mindy Miles both finished the season among the top 10 in the nation when it came to points per match, finishing with respective season point averages of 584 and 596.

The Frogs will be competing against seven schools: Alaska-Fairbanks, Murray State, Kentucky, West Virginia, Air Force, Nebraska and the hosting Ohio State when competition takes place at the French Field House from March 10-11. The national champion is decided by the highest combined score from small-bore and air rifle. Former Horned Frog Sarah Scherer took home the individual national title for small-bore in 2010 and 2012, the only person to ever do so in program history.