Former Frogs headed to NFL playoffs


With the National Football League playoffs right around the corner, seven of TCU’s 14 active NFL players are continuing their seasons into the playoffs.

Cincinnati Bengals’ quarterback Andy Dalton and Green Bay Packers’ offensive tackle Marshall Newhouse started all 16 games this season.

Dalton led the Frogs to consecutive BCS Bowl appearances in his final two years, including a victory in the 2011 Rose Bowl. The 2011 Pro Bowl selection has guided the Bengals to back-to-back playoff appearances for the first time in Cincinnati history since 1981-82.

The Bengals’ starting quarterback ranked third in the AFC and tied for seventh in the NFL with 27 touchdown passes this season. Dalton also tied for third in the NFL with nine fourth-quarter scoring passes. His four rushing touchdowns are the most by a Bengals quarterback since Jon Kitna in 2002.

Indianapolis Colts’ outside linebacker Jerry Hughes started six games and recorded four sacks along with 41 tackles.

The New England Patriots have two former Frogs, offensive tackle Marcus Cannon and defensive back Malcolm Williams, contributing to the team. Cannon played in all 16 games with one start while Williams had two tackles in two games on defense and also contributed on special teams.

Clint Gresham has started in all 48 games at long snapper over his three seasons with the Seattle Seahawks.

Tight end Logan Brock is on the practice squad for the Houston Texans.

TCU was ranked No. 1 in the nation by for developing NFL talent in 2011.

Active TCU players in the NFL
Logan Brock, TE, Houston Texans
Braylon Broughton, DE, New Orleans Saints
Marcus Cannon, OT, New England Patriots
Malcolm Williams, DB, New England Patriots
Tank Carder, LB, Cleveland Browns
Andy Dalton, QB, Cincinnati Bengals
Clint Gresham, LS, Seattle Seahawks
David Hawthorne, LB, New Orleans Saints
Jerry Hughes, LB, Indianapolis Colts
Colin Jones, S, Carolina Panthers
Jeremy Kerley, WR, New York Jets
Greg McCoy, CB, Arizona Cardinals
Marshall Newhouse, OT, Green Bay Packers
Jason Phillips, LB, Carolina Panthers
Daryl Washington, LB, Arizona Cardinals