Schlossnagle ejected in 4-1 loss to Oklahoma State


TCU baseball coach Jim Schlossnagle was ejected in the seventh inning Saturday afternoon as the Horned Frogs lost 4-1 to No. 22 Oklahoma State.

Schlossnagle came out of the dugout and began shouting at home plate umpire Ray Leible after OSU scored on a sacrifice fly to take a 4-1 lead.

The coach said the runner at third left the bag before the ball had been caught. He continued screaming at the umpire until he was thrown out to the cheers of the home crowd.

It was not the first time in the game the umpire’s calls were questioned by both the coaches and the fans.

Cowboys first baseman Tanner Krietemeier tied the game at 1-1 in the sixth on an RBI double that landed outside the left field line. The crowd at Lupton Stadium shouted that the ball should have been called foul, but Leible ruled that it flew over third base in the air before traveling into foul territory.

OSU scored two more runs in the inning on a throwing error by shortstop Keaton Jones. Jones threw to first after fielding a tough ground ball, but his throw skipped wide of the bag, allowing OSU to take a 3-1 lead.

“That’s part of the game,” Schlossnagle said of calls going against his team. “Whether balls are fair or foul, who knows? Obviously the umpires are in charge of that…But I thought the guy left early at third base on the dive, but, you know, I’m not the one who ultimately makes the call.”

Sophomore Brandon Finnegan was credited with the loss, which dropped him to 0-5 on the season. The left-hander allowed two hits, one walk and struck out seven batters in five 1/3 innings. Both the runs he gave up were unearned.

“He’s definitely the best pitcher in the country that doesn’t have a win,” Schlossnagle said.

“It sucks,” Finnegan said, “but all you can do is go out there and trust I’m going to have some runs scored. But either way, I just got to do my thing.”

CORRECTION: This story previously reported Jim Schlossnagle would be suspended for Sunday's game against OSU because of a new NCAA rule regarding coach ejections. Schlossnagle was not suspended, as his ejection did not qualify under the rule.