10 Frogs earn Academic All Big-12


10 Frogs earn conference academic honors

By Robbie Vaglio

The Big 12 Conference honored 10 members of both the TCU men’s and women’s tennis teams on Tuesday afternoon by naming them to the 2017 Academic All Big-12 First and Second Teams.

The First Team selections were Hudson Blake, Reese Stalder, Alex Rybakov, Maire Norris and Aleksandra Zenovka. Cameron Norrie, Guillermo Nuñez, Trey Daniel, Olaya Garrido-Rivas and Caroline Wegner were named to the Second Team.

Members of the First Team are athletes who have maintained a GPA of 3.20 or better, while members of the Second Team have a GPA of 3.00-3.19.

In order to qualify for these honors, athletes must maintain a GPA of 3.00 or higher either cumulatively or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team’s scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfer students are not eligible in their first year, and senior student-athletes that have not participated in 60 percent of contests but have been on the team for a minimum of two years and meet all other criteria are eligible.

Both men’s and women’s tennis teams will compete in the Big 12 Championship in Norman, Okla. from April 27-30.

The men’s team earned a first-round bye and will face the winner of the Texas vs. Oklahoma match on Friday at 10 a.m. The women’s team also earned a first-round bye and will face Texas on Friday at 1 p.m.