Quick Sports: 18 Frogs named to All-Conference teams

The Frogs had 18 players named to All-Mountain West Conference teams this season, a school record.

Eight of the Frogs’ 11 starters on defense were named to either the first- or second- All-MWC team, including junior defensive end Jerry Hughes, who was named All-MWC defensive player of the year.

The first-team players are Hughes, senior linebackers Jason Phillips and Robert Henson, senior safety Stephen Hodge, senior center Blake Schlueter and sophomore wide receiver Jeremy Kerley as a return specialist.

The players who earned second-team honors are senior safety Steven Coleman, senior defensive tackle Cody Moore, senior defensive end Matt Panfil, junior cornerback Rafael Priest and junior offensive tackle Marshall Newhouse.

The seven players who were honorable-mention picks are: senior running back Aaron Brown as a return specialist, sophomore offensive tackle Marcus Cannon, sophomore quarterback Andy Dalton, freshman punter Anson Kelton, junior cornerback Nick Sanders, senior defensive tackle James Vess and sophomore wide receiver Jimmy Young.

– Sports editor Billy Wessels