89° Fort Worth
All TCU. All the time.

TCU 360

TCU 360

All TCU. All the time.

TCU 360

The Skiff Orientation Edition: Welcome, Class of 28!
The Skiff Orientation Edition: Welcome, Class of '28!
By Georgie London, Staff Writer
Published May 13, 2024
Advice from your fellow Frogs, explore Fort Worth, pizza reviews and more. 

Fall commencement honors graduates and faculty

TCU bestowed degrees on 807 students at Fall Commencement in a formal ceremony held in Daniel-Meyer Coliseum on December 18, 2010.

The university graduated students from 28 states, including Texas, and 19 foreign countries. Students received their diplomas from Chancellor Victor J. Boschini, Jr.

J. Luther King, Jr., outgoing chairman of the TCU Board of Trustees delivered the commencement address. Besides those who received bachelor’s degrees, there were 194 master’s degree candidates, 16 doctoral candidates and 23 Brite Divinity School graduate candidates.

Ninety-eight graduated with Latin Honors: 50 cum laude, 36 magna cum laude and 12 summa cum laude. Two students graduated with a perfect 4.0 GPA and six students received double degrees.

Chancellor Boschini also presented the sixth annual Michael R. Ferrari Award for Distinguished University Service and Leadership to Will Stallworth (Associate Vice Chancellor for Facilities). This recognition was established in Chancellor Ferrari’s name to recognize a faculty or staff member for leadership in finding a solution to a significant problem, managing an important project, designing a creative new initiative, or reaching out to improve the University or surrounding community. Previous winners are Keith Whitworth (sociology), Tara Perez (groundskeeper), Leo Munson (Associate Provost for Academic Support), José Feghali (School of Music) and Ed McNertney (economics).

The university also recognized professors for their outstanding teaching and quality research or creativity. Nominees for the Deans’ Creativity or Research Award included Dr. Steve Woodworth, AddRan College of Liberal Arts; Dr. Darren J.N. Middleton, AddRan College of Liberal Arts; Dr. Mauricio Rodriguez, M.J. Neeley School of Business; Dr. Chris Sawyer, College of Communication; Dr. Jan Lacina, College of Education; Dr. H. Joseph Butler, College of Fine Arts; Dr. Suzy Lockwood, Harris College of Nursing and Health Sciences; and Dr. Jean-Luc Montchamp, College of Science & Engineering. Nominees for the Deans’ Teaching Award included Dr. Jeff Roet, AddRan College of Liberal Arts; Dr. Jill Havens, AddRan College of Liberal Arts; Dr. Larry Peters, M.J. Neeley School of Business; Dr. Tommy Thomason, College of Communication; Dr. Susan Anderson, College of Education; Dr. Blaise Ferrandino, College of Fine Arts; Dr. Kathy Baldwin, Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences; Dr. Douglas Ingram, College of Science & Engineering.

The University conferred an Honorary Doctor of Arts degree on Susan Jaffe, former American Ballet Theater ballerina and current ABT ballet mistress. As a leading ballerina, Ms. Jaffe performed all the classical ballet repertoire as well as the works of all the 20th century master choreographers. In fall 2008, TCU’s School of Classical & Contemporary Dance hosted Ms. Jaffe as choreographer-in-residence.

For more information on TCU’s commencement ceremony, visit www.commencement.tcu.edu.

More to Discover