26 students take 40 awards at TIPA convention

Awards won by the TCU Student Media Advertising, The Daily Skiff and TCU News Now at this past weekend’s Texas Intercollegiate Press Association convention in Fort Worth are a reflection of the Schieffer School’s shift in focus toward an increase in online media resources, John Tisdale, associate director of the Schieffer School of Journalism, said.

Twenty-six TCU student journalists ranging from television and radio broadcasts, newspaper, magazine and online publications and advertising staffs for those outlets took home 40 awards at Saturday’s TIPA convention.

“We are putting more emphasis and resources into putting things online,” Tisdale said. “And these awards are a reflection of how we have shifted the focus of what we are doing in terms of preparing student media practitioners.”

TIPA is the largest and oldest college press association in the nation, according to the association’s website.

For content produced in 2010, TCU News Now won the Sweepstakes Award at the TIPA convention, as well as third place for Best Newscast.

Student Media Advertising won three first-place national awards for its online rate card, online promotional advertising and sales promotion materials.

Student Media Advertising staff were also honored at the College Newspaper and Business Advertising Managers National convention in Nashville, Tenn., receiving three third-place awards for Best Newspaper Best Promotion Campaign, Best Online Display Ad and Best Training Program.

The Skiff won first place for Best Special Section/Edition and Honorable Mention for Best Newspaper. Former Skiff Editor-in-Chief Julieta Chiquillo was named Editor of the Year in the daily newspaper category. Overall the Skiff won 14 individual and staff awards in the daily newspaper category.

Individual award winners for TIPA:

TIPA Television Category:

Chris Blake — first place, Sports Non-Feature Story; first place, Audition Tape; honorable mention, Sports Non-Feature Story

Maddy Foxx — second place, News Non-Feature Story

Katie Vance — second place, Sports Feature Story

Josh Davis — second place, Sports Non-Feature Story

Austin Pearson — second place, News Feature Story

Katie Love — third place, Audition

TIPA Daily Newspaper and Online Categories:

Julieta Chiquillo — Division I Editor of the Year

Ryne Sulier — first place, Sports Column

Marshall Doig and Chance Welch, first place, Best Audio Slideshow

Matt Coffelt — second place, News Photo; second place, Feature Photo

Josh Davis — third place, News Story

Julie Susman — third place, Feature Page Design

Christi Aldridge — honorable mention, General Column

Nick Green — honorable mention, Critical Review

Kayla Mezzell — honorable mention, In-Depth Reporting

Ashley Shin — honorable mention, Ad Design

Jacob Brahce — honorable mention, Editorial Cartoon

Akmal Marikar — honorable mention, Illustration

TIPA Radio Category:

Jon Wulf — first place, Sportscast

Sam Ryan — first place, Spot/PSA, Promo

Ryan Beukema — first place, Production

Brice Kesler — second place, Sportscast

Phil Mann — second place, Overall Newscast

TIPA General Magazine Category:

Lauren Rausch — first place, Cover Design

Courtney Ortega — first place, Feature Story

Julieta Chiquillo — third place, Column/Essay

Lauren Skidmore — third place, General News Photo