53° Fort Worth
All TCU. All the time.

TCU 360

TCU 360

All TCU. All the time.

TCU 360

Cayla Prophater, a senior biology major, wrote and published “Stella the Shark has a toothache.” (Photo courtesy of Cayla Prophater)
TCU student publishes a children's dental hygiene book
By Savanna Dastrup, Staff Writer
Published Apr 11, 2024
Cayla Prophater, a senior biology major, wrote "Stella the Shark has a toothache," available now on Amazon.
Vaping makes a comeback
Published Apr 11, 2024
The Skiff: TCU goes dark
Published Apr 11, 2024

Timeline of TCU conference changes

1896: The first year of football for TCU.  They compete as AddRan Male and Female College in Waco. TCU won its first game against Toby’s Business College of Waco.

1897: TCU hires its first coach Joe J. Field. TCU also wins its first game against Texas A&M. The only loss that year was to the University of Texas 18-10.

1909: TCU joins the Texas Intercollegiate Athletic Association.

1923: TCU joins the Southwest Conference and ends the season with a 2-1 record.

1929: TCU wins its first SWC title with a 7-7 tie with Southern Methodist University.

1934: TCU hires Dutch Meyer as its head football coach. Meyer coaches for the next 19 years with players such as Sammy Baugh, Davey O’Brien, Ki Aldrich, Darrell Lester and others.

1935: TCU wins the National Championship over LSU in the Sugar Bowl. TCU was not the SWC champion that year though with a 20-14 loss to SMU.

1938: TCU went 11-0 in the regular season to clinch the SWC title. The Frogs also go on to win the National Championship 15-7 over Carnegie Tech in the Sugar Bowl. TCU was ranked No. 1 in every ranking– AP, Williamson Rating System and Helms– while quarterback O’Brien went on to win the Heisman, Maxwell and Camp trophies.

1971: Jim Pittman is hired. Pittman leads the Frogs in a successful bowl campaign against Tulane. Pittman dies from a heart attack during the Baylor game. Pittman’s chief aide, Billy Tohill, takes over until 1973.

1984:  TCU goes 8-4 and earns its first bowl bid since 1965.  Jim Wacker earns several National Coach of the Year awards.  The Horned Frogs lose to West Virginia in the Bluebonnet Bowl.

1996: TCU is not added to the newly formed Big 12 Conference when the Southwest Conference breaks apart.  TCU joins the Western Athletic Conference. 

September 7th, 1996– TCU’s first game as a WAC member is a a 20-7 victory on the road over Oklahoma.  The team finishes the season 4-7, winning 3 WAC Conference games.

2001: TCU leaves the WAC and begins Conference USA play.  Defensive coordinator Gary Patterson takes over as head coach.

2003: TCU remains nationally ranked the entire year.  They finish 11-2, with a 34-31 loss to Boise State in the Fort Worth Bowl.

2005:  On July 1st, TCU joins the Mountain West Conference, part of a nation-wide conference realignment that occurred from 2005 to 2006.

December 23rd, 2008:  A 10-2 TCU team defeats previously undefeated WAC Champion Boise State 17-16 in the Poinsettia Bowl. Road losses to Oklahoma and Utah were the Horned Frogs' only losses in the 2008 season.

November 28th, 2009:  Fourth ranked TCU defeats New Mexico 51-10 to complete its first undefeated regular season since the 1938 National Championship Team. 

January 4th, 2010:  TCU plays in its first ever BCS bowl in the 2010 Fiesta Bowl against Boise State.  TCU loses 17-10 to the undefeated WAC Champions.

2010:  Senior Andy Dalton leads TCU to another undefeated regular season and another MWC Championship.  Because of undefeated Oregon and Auburn teams landing spots in the National Championship Game, TCU gets an offer to play in the Rose Bowl.

November 29th, 2010:  TCU announces they will join the Big East Conference in 2012.

January 1st, 2011:  TCU defeats Wisconsin 21-19 to win the 2011 Rose Bowl and complete a perfect 13-0 season.

Today: TCU given an invitation to the Big 12. There is no confirmation on the move from TCU.

More to Discover