Sixteen Frogs earn Big 12 honors

Sixteen Frogs earn Big 12 honors

Freshman defensive end Devonte Fields was named the Big 12 Defensive Freshman of the Year on Wednesday.

Fields led the Big 12 with 17.5 tackles for loss and ranked second with nine sacks. The Arlington native also earned First Team All-Big 12 honors.

Cornerback Jason Verrett and defensive end Stansly Maponga joined Fields as first team selections.
Offensive guard Blaize Foltz, safety Sam Carter, linebacker Kenny Cain and defensive tackle Chucky Hunter were awarded Second Team All-Big 12 honors.

The Frogs also had 12 players earn honorable mention accolades:Josh Boyce, wide receiver, Skye Dawson, return specialist, James Fry, center, Jaden Oberkrom, placekicker, Elisha Olabode, safety, Ethan Perry, punter and Matthew Tucker, tailback.

Honorable mention for individual awards:
Defensive Lineman of the Year: Devonte Fields
Offensive Lineman of the Year: Blaize Foltz
Defensive Player of the Year: Jason Verrett,
Offensive Freshman of the Year: B.J. Catalon
Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Tayo Fabuluje