Student body officer candidates set to debate Wednesday

Student body officer candidates set to debate Wednesday

Student body officer candidates will be answering questions during a debate in the TCU News Now studio on Wednesday at 4 p.m.

This will be the third debate hosted by News Now since the fall elections in 2011.

The debate will be open to the public; however, there will be limited space. Students will also be able to submit potential questions via social media for the candidates to address during the debate.

Students can tweet questions or comments to the TCU360 Twitter account or email questions to [email protected]

The candidates will serve a whole academic year if elected.

The candidates for student body president are Graham McMillan and Cody Westphal. McMillan is currently serving as the vice president for external affairs while Westphal is the current student body treasurer.

The candidates for vice president of operations are Nick Daigle and Lauren Sharp. Sharp is running for re-election and Daigle is currently serving as an AddRan College of Liberal Arts representative.

Hilary Shepheard is running unopposed for vice president for external affairs. Shepheard is currently a College of Communication representative.

Zach Madel is running unopposed for student body treasurer. Madel is the current chairman of the finance committee.

According to the SGA website, polls open at 8 a.m. on Tuesday, April 23. Students will be able to vote on until 8 a.m. on Wednesday, April 24. The winners will be announced at noon on Wednesday, April 24.