Student honored with national journalism award

Student honored with national journalism award

The Society of Professional Journalists has honored TCU’s Ryan Osborne with the 2012 national Mark of Excellence award for sports column writing.

National Mark of Excellence Award winners are chosen from the first-place category winners in each of SPJ’s 12 regions, and the awards are judged by professionals with at least three years of journalism experience.

“We have a lot of talent at TCU 360 and the Schieffer School of Journalism, and it is an honor to be region-recognized and nationally recognized by an organization like SPJ,” Osborne said.

Osborne, a junior journalism major, earned the first-place award for three columns, one of which was published in August 2012 and outlined quarterback Casey Pachall’s admission to police that he used marijuana, cocaine and ectasy.  

“There are some nights that I wish I didn’t write the column” Osborne said.

He said he received harsh criticism, but he still stands by what he wrote.

The other two columns in the first-place category focused on head football coach Gary Patterson taking a risk at the West Virginia game and Pachall’s image and role as quarterback.

Osborne said his integration of reporting into his column writing made him stand out in the judging process.

Osborne will be recognized at the Excellence in Journalism 2013 conference in Anaheim, Calif., from Aug. 24 to 26. Only the first-place national winners will be awarded at the event.