TCU football players named to special teams award watch lists


TCU placekicker Jaden Oberkrom and punter Ethan Perry are players listed on national watch lists for college football special teams awards.

Oberkrom, a rising sophomore, is on the national watch list for the Lou Groza Award, which goes to the nation’s best kicker. Perry, also a rising sophomore, is on the national watch list for the Ray Guy Award, which is handed out to the nation’s best collegiate punter.

TCU is one of eight schools nationally to have both a placekicker and punter on watch lists for the Lou Groza Award and Ray Guy Award, respectively.

Oberkrom and Perry are the fifth and sixth Horned Frogs to be named to a national watch list for a position award. Quarterback Casey Pachall, receiver Brandon Carter, defensive lineman Devonte Fields and cornerback Jason Verrett are all on watch lists as well.

Oberkrom, a semi-finalist for the Groza award last season, hit 22 out of his 30 field goal attempts, including a 10-of-13 record on field goals of 40 yards or more.

Oberkrom was a perfect 42-42 on extra point kicks and scored 108 points overall for TCU, which is the second-highest amount of point for a single season for in team history.

Scoring 104 points for TCU in 2012 as a true freshman, Oberkrom set school and Big 12 Conference records by hitting six field goals against Texas Tech. His career-long kick came against Michigan State in the Buffalo Wild Wings Bowl, as Oberkrom made a 53-yard field goal in the fourth quarter.

Perry, named as a Freshman All-American in 2012, punted 63 times for the Horned Frogs last season. Twenty of the punts went for at least 50 yards, while five went at least 60 yards. Nineteen punts landed within in the opponent’s 20-yard line, with 10 punts turning into touchbacks.

With a season average of 44.5 yards per punt, Perry ranks second in TCU’s all-time season best punt averages. Only Chris Becker has a better average, with a 46.1 yards per punt average set in 1986.

Perry hit a career long of 64-yards was made twice, once against SMU in rainy conditions and again against Oklahoma.