87° Fort Worth
All TCU. All the time.

TCU 360

TCU 360

All TCU. All the time.

TCU 360

The Skiff Orientation Edition: Welcome, Class of 28!
The Skiff Orientation Edition: Welcome, Class of '28!
By Georgie London, Staff Writer
Published May 13, 2024
Advice from your fellow Frogs, explore Fort Worth, pizza reviews and more. 

Women’s basketball earns three All-Big 12 selections

Amy Okonkwo grabbed the Sixth Man of the Year award. Photo courtesy of gofrogs.com

Three women’s basketball players earned All-Big 12 honors announced by the league Wednesday, including forward Amy Okonkwo who was tabbed as the Big 12’s Sixth Man of the Year award.

Okonkwo’s honor was TCU’s second Big 12 individual award as she joins Chelsea Price, the 2015 Defensive Player of the Year selection.

Okonkwo averaged 15.4 points and 5.8 rebounds per game this season while shooting a conference-best 90.2 percent from the free-throw line and 51 percent from the field. She is on pace to be the second-ever Big 12 player to record a 50/90 season.

Okonkwo was also named to the All-Big 12 second team and her teammates Jordan Moore and Kianna Ray were named All-Big 12 Honorable Mentions. Okonkwo is the second Horned Frog to record first or second-team conference honors, joining Zhana Medley who recorded three All-Big 12 first team selections.

Moore is TCU’s second-leading scorer with 12.8 points per game and TCU’s leading rebounder with 6.8 per game. Moore also ranks eighth in the Big 12 in field goal percentage, 53.8 percent, and third in blocked shots with two per game.

Ray’s ball movement has been huge for the Horned Frogs all season. She is TCU’s assist leader with 3.6 per game, eighth in the Big 12.

She is one of two players in the conference to rank in the top 15 in assists, steals, and blocks.

This is the second season that TCU has had three separate players earn conference honors as Prince, Medley and Veja Hamilton earned Big 12 honors in 2015.

The Horned Frogs will return to the hardwood for the Big 12 Tournament Saturday against the Oklahoma Sooners at Chesapeake Energy Arena in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma. Tipoff is set for 11 a.m.

More to Discover