All TCU. All the time.

TCU 360

TCU 360

All TCU. All the time.

TCU 360

Read More

Student journalists honored


Several student journalists were recognized this weekend in the Texas Associated Press Managing Editors annual awards ceremony.

Grace Amiss, a junior who is studying abroad this semester, was awarded first place in the category of video shorter than two minutes for the video included with the article “Course for Spanish speaking employees doubles in size.”

Grace Amiss, won an award for her ‘Course for Spanish speaking employees doubles in size’ story

Her entry was praised in the the judge’s comment: “Wow, this video is incredible. Well-produced, scripted and edited. Solid use of interviews, voice-overs and b-roll make this one of the best news videos I’ve watched in a long time.”

The students competed in the Class A category, which is for news organizations with a circulation of 10,000 or less. Texas APME is statewide organization for professional journalists.

The journalism students, all whom work for TCU Student Media, swept the short video category:

The video accompanying “Hispanic voters credit O’Rourke for their participation,” by Carolina Oliveras was second place.

Third place went to Amiss and Corinne Hildebrandt for the video with “Every vote counts this midterm.”

Benton McDonald’s and Marissa Stacy’s coverage of last fall’s power outage placed second in the online live coverage category.

Garrett Podell placed third in the Celeste Williams Star Sportswriter of the Year category. Podell’s entry included a feature on TCU basketball coach Jamie Dixon, “National expectations match Dixon’s for No. 20 TCU.”

Robbie Vaglio and Colin Post received an honorable mention in the deadline writing category for “UPDATE: Turpin was arrested in March for assault of family member.”

Oliveras received an honorable mention in the sports feature category for “More Than a Word” screening addresses Native American based mascots.”

More to Discover