84° Fort Worth
All TCU. All the time.

TCU 360

TCU 360

All TCU. All the time.

TCU 360

TCU alumni connect with each other at Guy Fieri’s Dive & Taco Joint in downtown Kansas City, Missouri. on Friday Oct. 7, 2022. (Photo courtesy of Tristen Smith)
How TCU's alumni chapters keep the Horned Frog spirit alive post-grad
By Addison Thummel, Staff Writer
Published May 11, 2024
TCU graduates can stay connected with the Horned Frog community with alumni chapters across the nation.

Students elect new SGA vice president

Students can vote for the Student Government Association candidates using ballots sent via email. (Heesoo Yang/Staff Photographer)

This story was updated Sept. 4 with updates from Thursday’s runoff election.

Students chose Liliana Ogden to be the new vice president of the Student Government Association in Thursday’s runoff election.

Ogden received 1,446 votes, 57.36% of the total. The other candidate, Cage Sawyers, received 1,075 votes, 42.64% of the total.

There were 2,521 total votes in the runoff, an increase of more than 1,000 from Tuesday’s vice presidential election.

SGA vice presidential runoff to be held Sept. 3

Students will vote tomorrow in a runoff election between two vice presidential candidates for the Student Government Association.

Since none of the vice presidential candidates received more than 50% of the vote in Tuesday’s election, students will choose either Liliana Ogden or Cage Sawyers tomorrow. Ballots will be sent via email.

Ogden received 591 votes, 41.5% of the total. Sawyers received 707 votes, 49.65% of the total. Drew Stewart, who is not included in the runoff, received 126 votes, 8.85% of the total.

Watch: SGA Vice Presidential Debate

The runoff election begins tomorrow at 9 a.m. and closes at 8 p.m. Students can contact Vivian Noyd, SGA’s elections and regulations chair, if there are any problems with the ballots.

Two seats were filled during Tuesday’s election: Paige Shiring is president, and Gabby Douthitt is treasurer. Both of these candidates ran unopposed.

Noyd wrote in an email she is excited for the new student body officers and believes in shared governance.

“Now more than ever, it is crucial to have students’ perspectives shared and considered, and electing passionate student leaders is the first step in achieving this goal,” she wrote.

Ogden said it’s been a long week and she’s excited because the runoff shows that students care about the elections. She said it’s been fun getting to know more students and she is excited to make change and advocate for students.

“Thank you so much for all of your love and support,” she said. “Don’t lose hope and just take 30 seconds out of your day to vote tomorrow because your vote matters. Action starts now and we can do this together.”

Yesterday, students were also sent ballots to vote for their college and class representatives. The results are below.

There are seats available for some colleges: one for the Bob Schieffer College of Communication, three for the College of Science & Engineering and two for the Neeley School of Business. Students who would like to apply to fill an open seat can do so here.

AddRan College of Liberal Arts:

  • Kyle Atwood
  • Catherine Cunningham
  • Polina Oglesby
  • Bella Pantoja
  • Wyatt Reiter
  • Holley Trumbo
  • Wyatt Waters
  • Matthew Winnek

Bob Schieffer College of Communication:

  • Breana Adams
  • Morgan Braitberg
  • Caroline Hawley
  • Maddie Raney
  • Abby Vernacchia

College of Education

  • Abigail Zuhlke
  • Katherine Muck

College of Fine Arts

  • Lyvi Baldner
  • Alex Colig
  • Danielle Smith
  • Martin Vershel

College of Science & Engineering

  • Ryan Macalanda
  • Julieta Martinez
  • Andrew McClurg
  • Maria Phillip
  • Margaret Prosser
  • Hayden Schandua

Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences

  • Brynn Anderson
  • Shelby Enman
  • Anastasia Helms
  • Garrett James
  • Tatum Lindahl
  • Mariana Rodriguez

Neeley School of Business

  • Delaina Bellows
  • Zane Champie
  • Jay Chochrek
  • Landry Johnston
  • Caitlin Lesko
  • Andrew Marshall
  • Maddy Price
  • Mary Rumbelow
  • Jacob Schriver
  • Austin Shively

School of Interdisciplinary Studies

  • Drew Stewart

Class of 2021

  • Vivian Noyd
  • Liliana Ogden

Class of 2022

  • Lau’Rent Honeycutt
  • Dawson Holder

Class of 2023

  • Caroline Durham
  • Kelly Mahoney
More to Discover